Oboe Quintet Arias From Magic Flute

This recording features Lisa Batiashvili, François Leleux, Lawrence Power and Sebastian Klinger. Their performance of Mozart’s Oboe Quartet, a highly virtuosic and original work shows a different side to these musicians, highlighting their subtlety and lightness of touch. The arrangement for oboe and violins of three arias from ‘The Magic Flute’ was originally set for two violins, while only the cor anglais part has survived from the Adagio, K580. In addition to the seldom-heard 1902 Serenade by the Hungarian composer Ernst von Dohnányi, Benjamin Britten’s ‘Phantasy Quartet’ presents a rhapsodically-toned masterwork for the combination of oboe, violin, viola and cello.

Oboe Quartet In F Major, K. 370

1. Allegro 6:43
2. Adagio 3:11
3. Rondo 4:37

Three Arias From “The Magic Flute”, Arranged For Oboe & Violin

4. Der Vogelfänger Bin Ich Ja 2:27
5. Ach, Ich Fühl’s, Es Ist Verschwunden 3:55
6. Der Hölle Rache Kocht In Meinem Herzen 2:07

7. Adagio In C Minor For Cor Anglais, Violin, Viola & Cello, K. 580a 5:24

Phantasy Quartet For Oboe, Violin, Viola & Cello Op. 2

8. Andante Alla Marcia 2:21
9. Allegro Giusto 3:17
10. A Tempo Comodo E Rubato 2:26
11. Molto Più Lento 2:51
12. Tempo Primo. Andante Alla Marcia 2:27

Serenade For String Trio In C Major Op. 10

13. Marcia 2:14
14. Romanza 4:00
15. Scherzo 4:33
16. Tema Con Variazioni 6:19
17. Rondo (Finale) 4:29

These four outstanding musicians come together in two works by Mozart and one by Britten. The Mozart is his Oboe Quartet in F, K370, a work whose compactness and exquisiteness go hand in hand, although one really does wish it could be longer. Mozart’s C minor Adagio for Cor Anglais, violin, viola and cello, K580A, is of lesser interest, but three arias from The Magic Flute in oboe and violin versions are delightful.

Sunday Times

Release Date: December 16, 2008

Number of Discs: 1

Label: Sony

Copyright: (C) 2008 Sony

Total Length: 1:03:00