Nine HarrisonParrott artists have been shortlisted for the 2015 Gramophone Awards across the Chamber, Contemporary, Orchestral and Opera categories. Paavo Järvi is one of the ten artists nominated for the Artist of the Year award.

Martin Fröst’s recording of Brahms’ Clarinet Quintet on BIS (which features Janine Jansen) has been nominated in the Chamber category, and Hannu Lintu’s recording of Berio’s Sinfonia, Calmo and Ritirata Notturna di Madrid with the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra on Ondine has been shortlisted for the Orchestral award.

Three HP artists feature on this year’s Contemporary shortlist. This includes Deutsche Grammophon’s disc of Unsuk Chin’s Three Concertos with the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Myung-Whun Chung, which features Alban Gerhardt’s recording of Chin’s Cello Concerto – a work that was written for the cellist. Also shortlisted is Lisa Batiashvili’s recording of Harrison Birtwistle’s Chamber Music on ECM and Sakari Oramo’s world premiere recording of Per Nørgård’s Symphonies Nos.1 and 8 with Wiener Philharmoniker on Dacapo.

Shortlisted for the Opera award is not only La Monnaie’s DVD of Berg’s Lulu on Bel Air Classiques, which features 2014 Gramophone Award winning soprano Barbara Hannigan in the title role but also Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra’s recording of Wagner’s Der fliegende Holländer with Russell Thomas and Christopher Ventris.

The winners of the recording categories will be announced on 27 August and the special award winners (including Artist of the Year) will be announced at the Gramophone Awards ceremony on 17 September.

The full list of artists shortlisted for the Awards can be found in Gramophone’s digital magazine.